Where it all started

Back when Dr Oz was a ‘thing” and he was a regular guest on Oprah (the show, now the person)… That’s where it all started. Must have been in 2007/8. Dr Oz was talking to Oprah about something called Green Drink. Juice containing: Apples, celery, spinach, lemon, ginger. I didn’t have a juicer but I was intrigued. Could I really drink all my ‘greens’ in one go? Could it really be that simple?

I knew that I couldn’t afford a juicer. At the time I was living in a bachelor flat with my best friend so that was not even an option. So my best friend agreed to buy a blender with me. “Surely you can just put all those ingredients in a blender and make something similar?” She said.

My first green smoothie was AWFUL. Ha ha ha ha. My little brother and best friend were so supportive though. It was chewy and not tasty at all. They just sat there chewing that green mess and congratulating me. The looks on their faces! Om my word! They must really love me.

1416289076701

I eventually got it right. Making green smoothies also made me a little braver when it came to making myself healthier meals. So if you don’t feel brave enough to make salads etc for lunch… Start with a green smoothie.

You don’t need LOTS of ingredients at all. All you need is a blender.

Green Smoothie: 1 (*frozen) banana, kale, ginger, lemon and water (if it’s too thick).

If you don’t like bananas then add whatever fruit you like.

*I freeze the banana because they get mushy if I just leave them in my kitchen for ages. It also makes the smoothie nice and cold.

Instagram

Leave a Reply

