Meat Free?

I live in a meat obsessed country. South Africans LOVE their meat. Lots of us grew up eating meat (for supper) every day. A few years ago I decided to eat less meat. Oh the horror! Where would I start? No pap and steak for supper? What would my mother say? Could I still call myself a South African?

One of the first things I tried to make was broccoli risotto (dinner). My South African ID did not burst into flames. My housemate did not faint from lack of eating meat. No bad things happened. The risotto was lovely and I tried to have a meatless dinner at least twice a week.

A few years later I started hearing about Meat Free Monday. I am not entirely sure who came up with concept but I liked the idea of making Meat Free (packed) *lunch meals. It’s an easy way to start eating less meat. You start with one meat free lunch and then before you know it, you’re a chia seed loving vegan ha ha ha. I have nothing against Chia seeds or vegans. Some of my good friends are vegans 😉

This is one of my favourite Meat Free Monday dishes.

This is one of my favourite Meat Free Monday dishes.

Chunky Roast Veggie Lunch: Roast Butternut & Beetroot + goats cheese + tomatoes on a bed of baby spinach.

Butternut & Beetroot drizzled with olive oil + salt + paprika and put in the oven.

*Yes. Some people have meat for lunch. 

Leave a Reply

