Green (tea) Smoothie

Winter is being all kinds of testy. I want to eat as much raw food as I can but… Salads (raw) just don’t give me much joy right now. Green smoothies have become a daily snack.

I have already posted banana and (my favourite) pineapple green smoothie recipes. Today I’m sharing a recipe for a Green Tea Smoothie.

1439461044776

I’m trying to cut down on sugar. Unfortunately I found that I couldn’t really enjoy my coffee without at least a teaspoon of sugar. Solution? Green tea. I’m sure you can google all its benefits, apparently it has many (words like antioxidants get thrown around a lot). I like green tea because it does the same thing as coffee but doesn’t *need sugar.

1439461364865

Ingredients

  • Green tea (let it cool)
  • Kale/spinach
  • Apple
  • Avo
  • Lemon

Put everything in a blender and enjoy. You can add ice cubes if you didn’t let the tea cool properly *side eye*.

1439461134610

Get yourself one of these glass bottles. No more bottled water and look how cute they are.

Green tea? Doesn’t it make the smoothie bitter? No. Trust me.

Can I leave out the avo? Sure but the smoothie won’t be as creamy

*Coffee purists reckon you don’t need to put sugar in your coffee. I do though 🙂

2 thoughts on “Green (tea) Smoothie

  1. Nena says:

    Love that glass bottle! Where can I get one of those? And you’re right…green tea should not be bitter in the first place. Green tea should be seeped for about 1 minute because if you leave it for too long in hot water it will burn off a lot of its wonderful nutrient properties and adds the bitter taste.

    Like

Leave a Reply

